Do you remember this room?

OH, the cords!!!

Last year, things got crazy when a roofer stepped through the ceiling.  And, life has been messy ever since.

This room had already been on our “to do” list.  However, when the roofer came crashing through it, we were in the middle of remodeling the bathroom.  It was not a time to drop everything and remodel the space as we’d intended.  So, it has been turned into a storage space for tools and construction supplies since that fateful day last June.

Now that the bathroom is finished (well, with the exception of having the tub reglazed), it’s time to get to work on this space.  I couldn’t be more excited!

This space will be doubling as a library and my home office.  I know it will get lots of use in the evenings too, since BeachBoy often puts in extra hours in the evening.

The long interior wall in this space adjoins the master bedroom.  Yes, that’s right, the master bedroom is made up entirely of INTERIOR wall.  We’ve spent 4 years trying to solve that puzzle.

So, we’ll be making a large openin in the wall. Along the short back wall, we’ll be adding shelving.  The small doorway to the ktichen will be enlarged, and the windows will be traded for french doors.

The Plan

What I’m most excited about is the ceiling.  The contractor has assured me that it can be raised.  Which makes me just a little thankful that the roofer came crashing through.  Had he not ruined my ceiling, I never would’ve known it had a double set of rafters.

So, the lower (unnecessary) ones will be coming out, giving this small space another foot of height.  I, for one, can’t wait.

For now, I’m on the prowl for the perfect doors to use in the opening between the library and the master bedroom and a beautiful old window to set above them as a transom.

As for BeachBoy, he’s still trying to recover from the sticker shock over the cost of the remodel.  Boy, life is so much better when you’re just a woman picking out lovely sconces.

