I’ve complained mentioned once or twice many times before that most of our home is currently in storage.  If you visit our storage unit and take everything out, youwill find our Christmas decorations in the very back.  Poor planning? Welll….you see, BeachBoy insisted we’d only be using the unit for the summer.  *Ahem* Summer, fall, winter…maybe he meant until the next summer.  Anyway,all of our Christmas supplies are in storage. 

So, this year, we decided to make (yes, make) all of our ornaments for the tree. 

Our inspiration came in the form of a pre-Thanksgiving trip to the lovely Sanibel Island in Florida. 

Apparently, when BeachBoy is at the beach, he’ll agree to anything, no matter how crazy it is.  So, when I told him I thought we should make all of our ornaments from shells, he pronounced it a great idea and began collecting bags of shells.  It was rather adorable, actually.

Three bags of shells, some bleach, and several bottles of glitter later, we had a tree.  Guess who did most of the glittering? My sweet Beachboy.  I’d share a picture, but I’ll save his pride as thanks for his hard work.

 

Now, I must confess something (southernistas, close your ears).  I wanted to use the drop cloths I’ve been bleaching to make rag garland for the tree, but I just didn’t have time.  So, to save BeachBoy from having to make quite so many shells, we put ribbon on the tree.  It’s not my thing, but I’ll survive.  Meanwhile, there is a  drop cloth skirt at the base which does not match the ribbon.  Oh, the social outcast of the south I am!

You’re right.  I didn’t make the birds.  They were a find from Michaels earlier this week.  Since they were the exact color of one of the glitters BeachBoy used on the shells, I couldn’t walk out without them. (excuses, excuses!)

In a recent post, sweet, sweet Suzanne of Our Southern Nest shared her tip for gathering free greenery.  I must say, I was skeptical.  You see, Suzanne is a true southern cutie and also quite charming.  You just can’t help but love her. I was convinced the Home Depot guys just couldn’t resist giving her the clippings.  But, as it turns out, they’ll apparently give them to windswept teachers covered in paint, too, or at least the ones at Lowe’s will! 

So, I went to work.

I have always had an aversion to fake flowers and greenery, so free Christmas tree clippings make me very happy.  It’s a chance to fill my home with things which would never be there otherwise.

I’ve been eyeing these baskets at TJMaxx for a while now.  What a lovely excuse the little red clearance sticker makes! I bought two.  Someday maybe they’ll grace a lovely front porch.

It’s a shame, for this purpose, that the mirrors are kept off-center.  But, an unbalanced garland will have to do for now.  The lovely smell makes up for it quite a bit. 

Tomorrow, I’m stopping by Home Depot so I can pick up more greens and do the outside of the house.  It’s amazing, really, how excited free greens can make me!

Ho, ho, ho, ya’ll!

