BeachBoy doesn’t buy ground beef; he buys ground sirloin.  So, I took a huge leap of faith when I decided to try a new turkey burger recipe this weekend. 

I found this basic burger recipe online and added a few extras to keep it moist and convince BeachBoy that turkey can be even better than beef.

burger1

The recipe, created to be used for Weight Watchers users, called for topping it with only tomato and lettuce.  Blah! 

 

Turkey Burgers

  • 3/4 lb. ground white turkey (breast meat)
  • 1/3 cup shredded pepper  jack cheese (The real recipe calls for plain Monterrey jack….but pepper jack is SO good.)
  • 2 green onions/scallions, chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon ketchup
  • 1 Tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper (I accidentally left this out.  Oops!  They were still yummy.)

Combine all ingredients except the cheese.  Mix thoroughly.  Then, blend in the cheese.  Form the mixture into patties (about 4).  Grill to yummy goodness!

burgers2

Extra Ingredients

  • Good buns, lightly grilled (They make or break the burger.)
  • 1 Tomato, thinly sliced
  • Romain Lettuce
  • Maple Bacon (2 half length pieces per burger)
  • Sliced Pineapple (Grilled and served warm)
  • Any remaining shredded cheese (because I just love it that much)
  • Special sauce

burger3

I wasn’t convinced that Beachboy would like the burger as it was prepared in the original recipe, so I added the above items.  For the sauce, I blended mayo, sour cream, green/red bell peppers, and a bit of pineapple juice.  The mayo and sour cream were about a two to one ratio, with mayo being the heavier amount.  I tossed in a handful of diced peppers and a bit of juice to thin it out. (simply because I knew we’d use less of the unhealthy sauce if it was nice and thin)  Together, all the extras added up to one REALLY juicy burger.

Please pass the napkins!

burger4

If BeachBoy, lover of all things beef, says it’s good, it must be!

