BeachBoy was out of town this weekend, and that always drives me to cook. 

I’ve been patiently waiting for the bananas on our counter to ripen for use in muffins.  Well, I’ve been somewhat patiently waiting.  I ate two of them.  While BeachBoy was out of town this weekend, I thought I’d make a yummy breakfast muffin for us to eat in the car on Sunday morning.  In our haste to make it to the nursing home before church services, there is never time to eat.  So, I’m constantly on the lookout for ‘on the run’ recipes. 

The recipe below is an adaptation of this banana muffin recipe.

Since I don’t have anyone to eat dinner with tonight, I think I’ll boil a pot of tea, squeeze in some lemon, and grab a warm muffin. Mmmmm…

Banana Muffins

  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 green bananas, mashed (unless you’re more patient than I am or prefer them ripe)
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. backing powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 3.4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (sliced)

Mix together the bananas, sugar, butter, and egg.  Stir together the flours, soda, powder, and salt.  Combine.  Stir in nuts and berries.  Pour mix into a greased muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.  Makes 12 muffins.

